I would like to ask some questions about Haraam and Halaal meat. I am very confused about it. I am not eating meat here (US), but some people told me that I can eat this meat. I will be thankful to you if you can give me answer according to Islam.
According to the Qur’an, of the things, which have normally been used by man for eating, the following are haraam or prohibited.
Flesh of pig;
Flowing blood; and
Animals, which are not sacrificed in the name of God.
The Qur’an has itself given a few details regarding the second and the fourth category.
In case of the second category of prohibited meat, the Qur’an says that whatever has been the cause of the death of the particular animal, it is not suitable for eating; the only exception is that the animal was found dying, but was not actually dead and consequently it was slaughtered in the prescribed manner. The Qur’an has termed such “slaughtering in the prescribed manner” as “Zakkaitum“, meaning slaughtering in such a way that most of the blood flows out of the slaughtered body.
In case of the fourth category of prohibited meat, the Qur’an says that animals which are slaughtered at specific, revered places (like darbars, i.e., graves of saints and other places considered to be holy and sacred etc.) should also not be eaten. Furthermore, the Qur’an also prohibits eating such animals, which are slaughtered without taking the name of God.
These are the directives of the Qur’an regarding Haraam meat. Besides these categories, the Qur’an has allowed all other animals, which have normally been used for eating by man.
21st May 1998