Is a Muslim allowed to eat food that has barely touched something forbidden for consumption. For instance, I once ate shrimp at a restaurant that had its side touched by non-halaal duck. Did I commit a sin? I know these questions might make me look like a picayune book-keeper to some, but I ask only because I fear God and wish to serve Him as best as I can. I would greatly appreciate your thoughts.
Thank you and God bless,
Any Halaal food does not become Haraam merely by the touch of Haraam food. However, if the two are cooked together, then it would indeed be more in keeping with the spirit of the directives of the Shari`ah to refrain from eating even the originally Halaal food.
October 12, 2001